village history

Threshfield History


Threshfield is a small village and civil parish in the Craven district of North Yorkshire

 It borders Grassington, Linton Falls and Skirethorns. Nearby villages (within 7 miles radius) are LintonCracoeRylstoneHettonHebdenKilnsey, and Greenhow.

Threshfield was founded by the Angles.

Before 1066 The Domesday Book shows that the Viking Gamel Bern was the landowner of here and Grassington, farming 840 acres of ploughland.

The Norman conquest of England made it part of the lands of Gilbert Tison. But by 1118 Tison had suffered a demotion and his lands returned to the king then given to the honours of Percy, Ramilly, Fitz John and d’Aubigny

The Old Hall, a Georgian inn which takes its name from the 14th century hall at the rear, was built by monks and reputedly the oldest inhabited building in Wharfedale. In the 16th century, Threshfield was part of a huge deer park.

Threshfield was historically a township in the parish of Linton in the West Riding of Yorkshire. It became a separate civil parish in 1866 and was transferred to North Yorkshire in 1974.

On pre-19th century maps, Threshfield’s name is sometimes inaccurately rendered as Rashby

Perfect for walkers

Many walks in and around town

Our friendly village

Enjoy our cozy pub

Explore Threshfield

Discover the town of Threshfield

Perfect for cyclists

MTB trails for avid riders & families

Motorbike friendly

Discover Threshfield on 2 wheels

Nearby Attractions

Explore the nearby attractions